Talking To Myself

This is a song I wrote this week in which I was trying to encompass how I was feeling at the time. I write a lot about my mental health. The song is the product of several streams of consciousness; my dark and sometimes suicidal thoughts and how they present themselves as voices in my head, but also how there is a solidity and a realness in nature that my head lacks. The dialogue in the song reflects the internal dialogue in my head between my rational and irrational self. I often think about how I’m jealous of animals because they don’t tie themselves into mental knots like we do, or at least I do; it’s a wisdom I think humans have lost over evolution. Much of this song was inspired by a walk I was on while I was in a particularly bad frame of mind, I was noticing all the animals I past. I was imagining that they were taking note of my frame of mind like it was a visible aura around me, and I also imagined though that they were understanding me in a way I can’t myself though I still felt a distance between us; both me and the animals I past, but also modern human beings and nature. That’s as best I can explain the process of writing the song I think. I hope it’s understandable, I’ve been told my processes can be hard to understand, I can’t even understand them myself!

6 thoughts on “Talking To Myself

  1. KC Redding-Gonzalez says:

    There’s a reason roses have thorns, you know….doesn’t make them any less wondrous. This is a poignant piece of songwriting, replete with thorns we all have pricked our thumbs on. As for the animals, I am reminded of a folk tale in which an abusive farmer harms all in his path. And when he is called to heaven it is the animals who are brought to testify against him…all presumed permanently silent, but yet witnesses all the while… Native Americans also believe in the potency of animals as our witnesses, having the ear of the creator, who listens to them much like your rabbit. Best to stay on their good side, then…And I think they would like your song; it’s clear from it that something of them notices and appreciates the specialness of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ask a Teenage Aspie says:

      Thanks, that’s very kind! I personally believe there is a lot of wisdom to be found in animals. A different kind of wisdom than is found in humans, I think. I think that’s probably the main reason I’m a strict vegetarian 😀 That sounds like a very interesting folk tale, do you know where it comes from? Is it Native American as well?

      Like

Leave a comment