Echo: A Poem on Bullying

I have previously touched on the subject of bullying on my blog before. Bullying is an issue which affects so many teenagers, and I regret to say I am among their number. It seems in secondary school especially, that there are some people that just make it their mission to single out anyone who is remotely different in any way; to harass, to jeer, to inflict harm. Without a doubt, many of those with Asperger’s will experience bullying at some point in their life time. We’re predisposed to be different to our peers. To me, the psyche of a bully is one of the most indecipherable things in the world. It is difficult for me to comprehend the desire to inflict pain on another human being. Despite the fact that bullying is an incredibly serious matter, it is unfortunately it is not always treated that way. The damage inflicted by bullying can be devastating, causing psychological trauma, a reduced academic achievement, severe anxiety and unfortunately in some cases, leading young people to take their own lives. Bullying leaves behind it an agonizing trail.

The effects of bullying don’t end when the bullying ends, they can stay with a person for a lifetime. This is the message I intend to get across in the following poem. I wrote this poem a few weeks ago, based on events that happened three years ago. I have encountered bullying at many points in my life, however it was this time that would have the most severe effects. Things have since greatly improved in many ways, a lot has changed. I now attend a different school (for unrelated reasons) and I am much more confident than the timid fourteen year old I once was; perhaps unrecognizable even. However the memories of when I was bullied still haunt me. This poem is based off my own experiences, but I hope it can convey not only that but also the universal feelings experienced by those who have experienced bullying. (Just a small warning, I used a politically incorrect term in the poem, which I would never use outside of this context. I was trying to replicate the abusive language that would be used by some teenagers where I live.)

 

Echo

 

I’ve moved on

But I hear them still,

His voice and his voice and his voice

Grasping and the tearing the strands

Of my being.

 

Scrunched up paper, the projectile,

Hit me on the back of the skull,

Less sharp that the words it wore

 

And I didn’t need to open it

To know what it said.

“Geek, Loner, Freak, Faggot, Piece of Shit:

We mark you a different thing to us.”

 

And with every word,

Every scrunched up piece of paper,

With hanging hair

And hanging eyes

That avoided every

Glance shot at them,

We built a silencing wall

Around me

To prove I am no person,

I am just a thing.

 

Now, I’ve grown more than a centimetre

And moved more than a mile,

I like to believe,

When life is torrential,

That plants echo

The tempests

That both rack and borne them:

Makes everything feel worth it,

Maybe.

 

But I’d never wish my walls on any person,

Because

Though I’ve moved on,

I hear them still.

 

©Tadhg Ó Ciardha, 2016
P1070037

We built a silencing wall around me

 

 

 

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Echo: A Poem on Bullying

  1. oneta hayes says:

    You write powerful, emotional poetry. Stirs the heart of this grandmother. Wish I could bear some of your load. My words just remind me of Jesus saying to cast our cares on him. I guess that would be more effective than my offer. But I still care for the bullied, the lonely, the hurting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ask a Teenage Aspie says:

      I’m sorry to hear your daughters went though bullying too. I hope they are recovering now. Thanks so much for sharing my work, that means a lot to see my words affect people like that

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sheila M. Good, Author says:

        It was my pleasure. I must say, although they see things differently as adults, the impact of the bullying forever changed them. Parents and all adults need to step up and teach their children, bullying is unacceptable. Period. It was my pleasure to share your work and thanks for stopping by the Cow Pasture.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda says:

    Powerful post Tadhg – bullying doesn’t make sense to me as well…I also never understood the need to be cruel to someone – one of my sons in particular has been a victim of bullying and his self-esteem has suffered – but he is strong, like you and has overcome it to become a better man. Good luck to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ask a Teenage Aspie says:

      Thanks for the comment. I think bullying is a product of our entire society, the drive to want to be “better” than others. I’m sorry to hear that he went through bullying too but happy to hear he has overcome it and used his pain to become a better version of himself. Andrew Solomon has a TED Talk called “How the worst moments in our lives make us who we are”, what you said reminded me of that

      Liked by 1 person

      • Linda says:

        That statement can be very true – depending on the person’s reaction to their particular situation. Some people react positively and do really well and some negatively and it only gets worse. Having a positive attitude in all circumstances would be the best – don’t you think!! Have a wonderful week!

        Like

  3. Laine Anne Jensen says:

    You made a poignant and often neglected point. Bullies are aggressive no doubt but bullying can also ostracize a person like a ‘silencing wall’. Very well written. I’m glad you chose not to remain silent and write this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate says:

    Sorry to hear of what you had to go through. Fab idea to express it through poetry and you do it so well. Thanks for sharing this. Anti bullying is a message that needs to be spread and awareness about bullying needs to be made. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KC Redding-Gonzalez says:

    You have an amazing poet’s vocabulary and sense of timing….Nicely done!

    Bullying does leave scars, And it represents an unnecessary right of passage, a “tradition” that needs to stop. But you aren’t what the bully decides you are. You are never that; you are better than that. It’s what makes you soooo scary. Then what you are is a threat… a representation of that bully’s own fears about himself and his fragile little world where he’s allowed other people to define who HE is. If you’re being bullied, it’s because something about YOU makes something about HIM vulnerable. And if you are bullied, you are doing something VERY right: you are being true to yourself…For a long time now, I have fed my bullies to the monsters I create in my writing… simply because it took a while to realize that the opinions of bullies don’t matter, doesn’t mean my monsters don’t eat well and often. They do. And now I know who I am because of and in spite of it. Don’t stop being you. The world needs more you in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ask a Teenage Aspie says:

      Thank you for your comment! What you say is very true, we can’t let the opinions of bullies define us. Writing is a very powerful tool for coping and I don’t know where I’d be with out it! 🙂

      Like

    • Ask a Teenage Aspie says:

      Thanks for the comment. Humanity as a whole needs to have an open dialogue about bullying and I think poetry is one of the best bearers for that message

      Like

Leave a comment